top of page

MONQ Aromatherapy

As a human that has dealt with anxiety for the majority of their life, I’m always trying to find ways to help me deal with those unexpected attacks. While everything might not work, it’s always worth a try and sometimes you would be surprised by how something so simple could work so well. In the past, I have tried meditation but found that a bit hard to do when my mind has already gone off on its downward spiral. So I thought doing something physical could help me distract my mind, at least for a moment so I could get my thoughts back under control. While there are a few methods I wanted to try I thought I would write about them here in my blog in case any of them could be good methods for you as well.


The one I want to focus on today is aromatherapy. At first, this seems so overwhelming to get into. There are so many oils and diffusers to choose from, plus the added caution you need if you have pets since some essential oils are toxic for them to breathe in. Then I would need the space for the diffuser and if I find it a bit too overwhelming to make my own mix of oils; there are so many combinations and I feel like it can be hard to concentrate in the middle of an anxiety attack.



In trying to find a simpler method I came across this brand called MONQ that makes these personal aromatherapy diffusers. These work in a way similar to vaping, but you do not inhale, just simply breathe it into your mouth, then breath out through your nose. You become your own personal diffuser and it is extremely portable and easy to use anywhere. They have 3 different methods, a normal at-home diffuser like the original way of doing it, individual diffusers that are about the size of a cigarette and pre-filled with blends for the mood you are trying to achieve, then a rechargeable version where you buy the interchangeable pods of preblended oils and use them on a rechargeable diffuser.


I went with the rechargeable version because they come in this sleek case that is perfect for keeping in my purse, and I can keep up to 3 blends in the case as well. Using these personal diffusers was a pleasure to use and I felt that it helped me take a moment in my attacks to focus on my breathing. I could just take it out, breathe it into my mouth, then out my nose. Scent has always been a powerful sense for me and can be an instant mood booster, so these ended up working great for me. Not only did the smell of the oil blends help calm me, but it also gave me a way to stop and get control over my anxiety attack.


While this may not work for you, I do recommend giving it a chance if this is something that intrigues you. I have chosen more pods since my first use of this and the ones that work for me so far are


 

Zen: orange, frankincense, ylang-ylang

Relieve: ginger, spikenard, helichrysum

Happy: fennel, thyme, vanilla

Focus: for clarity, production, and vision

Peace: rosemary, frankincense, mandarin

Vibrant: ginger, lemon, spearmint


 

There are plenty of blends to choose from and you can find all the information on Monq’s website. There are also other brands similar to Monq, so pick the one that suits you and give it a shot! It has been working to help my anxiety (but definitely not curing it) so I recommend that it is worth giving it a chance.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page