top of page

Dear Diary: Update March 6th



Dear Diary,

I haven’t written an update since October but I had some really long downtime from holiday depression. So I thought it was a good time for a little update to help me clear my mind and get back on track.


Into The New Year

The holidays are always a difficult time for me and it took a lot longer to get out of that funk than it normally does. For the most part, I’ve been feeling better. I think with this time of year I also deal with what I’ll call “New Year Failure syndrome”. Every new year,goals, you see everyone posting what they accomplished over the past year and what goals and such they have for the year to come. It can be depressing to see other people accomplish their goals, but feel like you didn’t accomplish anything yourself. However, everyone deserves the best and I am happy for my friends and their accomplishments. I’m trying to go into this year at my own pace. I always feel like I’m rushing myself to “catch up” but there really isn’t anything to catch up to. It just leads to stress and burnout. My growth needs to happen at its own pace, even if it feels too slow sometimes.


This Year’s Goals

At first, I didn’t want to make any goals for myself this year since I normally never accomplish them by the end. However, it also felt wrong to do nothing. So instead of nothing, I set a few really simple goals.

My goals are…

  • Make new friends

  • Read 1 book a month + review it

  • Work at my own pace

  • Recognize what I’m good at & capable of

  • Not Die

While this all seems super simple, that is the point. I didn’t want to make anything unrealistic and I feel like this year needs to be spent on knowing my worth and proving to myself that I can accomplish things. I just have to do it at my own pace. This year I’m focusing heavily on healthy productivity instead of the hustle culture that is pushed on you. You don’t need to burn yourself out to be successful, and you also need to know your own definition of what being successful is. It won’t be the same for everyone, and it shouldn’t be the same when we all have different goals and aspirations. I plan to write more posts about healthy productivity, so watch out for those throughout the year.


Health

For a while now, I’ve been on a different Crohn’s medication since my allergic reaction to Remicade. Now, I’m on Stelara and I’ve been on it for about a year (6 doses). It had a much slower startup than the Remicade did, but I’m finally starting to feel better from it. Having better health days will be a significant improvement in my life and I’m glad it is working. The symptoms I’ve been having the most lately have been bloating and stomach discomfort, but I haven’t been in a ton of pain, which is a huge upside.


Work

Regarding my hobbies and personal projects, I’ve been working on my Skyrim character journal and writing my book reviews. I’m trying to get more posts done both for my blog but also Instagram and Tumblr. I’m also getting back into hosting my co-working sessions and really hoping that it grows more this year. If you would like to have a place to co-work or body double in, please feel free to join the Discord server. You can find the links on the side panel or my Beacons link. I want to build a great place of healthy productivity, but I can’t do it alone and am always looking for people who want to join.


*Need to be 18+ to join the Discord server*


That is all I have for an update for now. Thank you for taking the time to read my blog, it means a lot. I hope you have a good rest of your day and I wish you all the best.

–Morgue


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page