top of page

4 Tips To Building A Wardrobe

Have you ever looked into your closet and thought you had nothing to wear? Despite the fact that your closet was bursting with clothes? Ever try putting together an outfit and realize all of your clothes are a huge mish-mash of random patterns, colors, and textures that don’t really go together? Or perhaps you looked over everything and thought to yourself that there was no distinct style there, but instead just whatever seemed popular or comfortable by everyone else’s standards? I think at one point or another we’ve all had these issues when it comes to getting dressed. Knowing what to wear can be difficult when there are so many options out there. Most often, we just buy what we like, but never actually take that piece of clothing into consideration with the rest of what we already own. So if you’ve been wanting to reset your closet and haven’t known where to start, I have four tips to help you get started on crafting your new style.


Pick Your Color Scheme

It’s hard to put an outfit together when everything you have is every color of the rainbow. And wearing color is fine, you should always wear what makes you happy, but it can be rather difficult to work with. One of the first steps to building your wardrobe is figuring out your color scheme. Are you someone who likes to wear neutrals? Or do you like colors more? Have a favorite color you like to wear? Narrow down your colors to about five to six. That way selecting clothes online or in-store can be easier because you already know what colors you are looking for. Personally, for me, I like wearing neutrals. Blacks, whites, greys, and browns are usually what I go for on a daily basis. Not to say that I don’t have color, there are a few pops here and there, but when I do wear color it always tends to be dark shades since I feel like I wear those best. But when working with neutrals for a majority of the time, it makes putting an outfit together so much easier because everything pretty much already goes together. I could make something monochrome and just wear all black, or go with a mix of black and white, or pick two neutral colors and add in a color I feel like wearing that day. No matter my mood I always have something put together simply because of my color selection.


Think In Layers

What is one of the things that pretty much decides for you what you will wear what day? The weather of course! Most of us aren’t going to walk out in shorts on a snowy winter day (yes, I’m talking about you men from Massachusetts). You’re going to bundle up like a sensible person and keep warm. But as I often remember as a child not wanting to wear bulky clothing only to get told “it’s about functionality, not fashion”, I’m here to tell you that dressing warm (or not) can still look good. When you build your wardrobe, try to build it with layers in mind. There’s no sense in buying 10 different coats if you have nothing to wear underneath them, or wearing a cute outfit if you don’t have anything to wear over it to keep you comfortable inside or out. Some staples I like to keep at my disposal are camis, mesh shirts, tank tops, and nylons just to name a few. These kinds of things are great for adding a little something to your outfits and helping you build up layers in a fashionable way. Layer a mesh shirt under a band tee. Layer a long sleeve under a dress, Wear nylons or fishnets under ripped jeans. Whatever it is you can easily add some extra warmth and that extra touch to any outfit as long as the weather calls for it.


Buy Clothes In Outfits

What I mean by this is when you go shopping, try not to buy all these random single items, but instead build an outfit as you shop. By doing this you are not only making sure you can get use out of every item you intend to purchase but that they also have at least one thing in your closet to be paired with. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gone shopping only to get home and realize I didn’t have anything that went with what I bought so I just ended up returning it or going out again to find things to pair them with. A good way to start if you are just starting to build your new style is to go on Pinterest and find some outfits that you like and think you’d wear. From there look at what you already have and write down the times that you don’t from your example outfits. Then when you go shopping, try to stick to that list so that you don’t overbuy or do what you’ve done before and buy random pieces with no way to style it.


Stick To Your List

Like I just mentioned, try making a list of things you’d like to add to your wardrobe and then stick to that list! It can be easy to just add everything you like to your cart, but that’s how we ended up here in the first place right? When making your list, write down the type of piece that you want. Mention if it needs to be a specific color or cut like an A-Line skirt or a skater skirt. Do you need a white button-down or a black one to go with this outfit? Which one would go with other outfits of yours to get max functionality? Do you need more coats in your selection or do you have enough and would benefit from another belt or accessory? Figuring out these questions before you hit the store online or in-person can really help stop overbuying and the later hassle of trying to find a place to store everything (and tbh I should listen to my own advice because my closet is packed, send help).


Hopefully, if you are looking to refresh your wardrobe, these four tips can help you get started. I know they’ve helped me pick out clothes when I was first growing into my style. While our tastes can change and styles go in and out, these tips won’t and will help every time you just wanna add a new piece to your closet or do a complete overhaul of it. Thanks for reading, I'll catch you in my next one. Cheers!


If you liked this post make sure to like and comment down below, it really helps me out!


Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page