top of page

Closet Staples: A Shirt 4 Ways

Fashion is one of my many passions and while I don’t make clothes myself, I love to put outfits together. I love learning new tricks and trends and sharing my thoughts on how to piece together looks of all styles. Often my friends compliment my style; so I thought that I should start a series of posts called Closet Staples. In these posts, I will take a classic article of clothing that everyone should have in their wardrobe and show you different ways of styling it.


The article of clothing I chose for today will be the ever classic white button-up shirt. I think everyone should have at least one white button shirt, because it is so versatile and they never go out of style. So you will get years and years of use from just one item of clothing. For the sake of keeping this simple, I will also keep a theme of black and white. I have curated four different outfits with their own style, and chances are you have these other pieces of clothing in your repertoire.





Outfit 1: For this outfit, I wanted to keep it casual and comfy. So I paired a white cotton button-up shirt with a black camie, my preferred fit of jeans, and comfy black and white sneakers. Keeping the black and white theme along with a pair of blue jeans keeps this look comfy, classic and a go-to when I don’t know what to wear for the day. Perfect for looking put together while you do your daily chores, run errands, or tackling whatever your day has to throw at you, I truly love this outfit.


Outfit 2: This outfit I wanted to go for a little date night look. I paired my white button-up shirt with a pleather black skirt and open-toed, open-heeled booties. Whatever bootie you have should work for this look, but I wanted to match the pleather texture of the skirt so I went with a pleather boot as well. Try matching this with a black leather jacket as well to pull it all together. This outfit is cute and flirty so perfect for a date night or a night out with the girls.


Outfit 3: To be honest this is the kind of outfit I would wear on a daily basis because that is how extra I am, but for anyone else, this would be cute for a party. I put the white button-up under a spaghetti strap dress and accessorized with heeled oxfords and a black bowtie just to make it extra cute. White button shirts are great to layer with, so don’t forget to try layering with dresses and not just other shirts! I might also wear sheer nylons or leggings with this outfit, but either way this will get you plenty of compliments at any party!


Outfit 4: For this last outfit I went for a more business casual style. I paired my white button-up shirt with a pair of black paper bag shorts, strappy heels, and a black blazer. The trick here is to take something fun and casual like shorts and pairing it with something you could wear to the office. Part of the trick for this outfit is keeping the textures similar so they appear to match and look like a suit. I even kept the texture of the heels soft by using strappy suede sandals instead of, say, patent leather pumps. This could be a great spring outfit for when you want to feel more put together and add a little somethin somethin to your wardrobe.


All of our wardrobes have potential and I hope this has helped you see the potential in yours. A closet staple like a white button-up shirt is just one of the many pieces that add so much versatility to our everyday outfits and those more unique items you might have trouble matching items too. For more outfit inspiration, check out my Instagram where I drop new outfits often, and if you have any questions be sure to leave them in the comments!


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page