top of page

5 Fashion Tips I Always Follow


Back when I was really working on figuring out who I was, a huge thing I experimented with was clothes. You are free to try things on and mix and match and if it doesn’t work? Well, then you can just take it off and go back to something you are comfortable with. I always get compliments wherever I go on what I’m wearing, but this is only because I took the time to find what my style was. Finding your style can take some time and a lot of trial and error, but I’ve come up with 5 fashion tips that I follow that helped me develop my style tremendously.


1. Mixing Different Fits

What I mean by this, is that you should try mixing both a tight-fitting piece with a loose-fitting piece. Wearing tight pants? Try a flowy top. Wearing a more fitted top? Try looser pants with an open leg or baggier pants that sinch at the leg cuff. Doing this often creates a pleasing silhouette that can compliment any body type.


2. Accessories Can Make A Difference

Don’t be afraid to use accessories to amp up a pretty basic style. If you often wear pretty plain clothes try adding jewelry, hats, jackets, pins (if you’re a pin collector like me), or whatever catches your fancy. When it comes to jewelry, try using fake cheap costume stuff to start with. Figure out what you like the best and once you know what kind of pieces you like you can try getting better ones that will both be more money, but also be better quality and last you a long time, to a lifetime.


3. Work Off Of A Statment Piece

Sometimes when I don’t know what to wear, I pick one thing I know I do wanna wear that day. It can be anything. A jacket, a piece of jewelry, a handbag, a skirt. Whatever you want. It can also be a color that you work off of. Want to wear a red jacket? Work the rest of your outfit around that red jacket, mixing and matching other red pieces in, match it to a pair of shoes, everything else you wear can be monochromatic so that the red jacket stands out. The statement piece should be the first thing anyone notices when they look at you.


4. Mix & Match Different Fabrics & Textures & Patterns

Try mixing up the different types of fabric you have in one outfit. A leather/pleather skirt looks great with a soft sweater, If you have textured leather boots, try matching a handbag that has the same type of texture to it. Wanna mix patterns? Try a camo with snake print. The point is, mix up what you have in your wardrobe, experiment, and find combos that make you happy and feel good wearing.


5. When In Doubt, Layer

When you aren’t really sure how to quickly put an outfit together, just remember one trick. Layer. Take a sweatshirt, a jacket, a button-up shirt, anything you really have, and try layering them together. Find combos that you like and you could easily take a casual outfit and make yourself look so much more put together. My favorite combo is taking a pullover sweatshirt, a leather jacket, or a peacoat and throwing those on before leaving the house if I need to dress quickly.


Those are the 5 fashion tips I always follow when making my outfits. They truly do help when you don’t know where to start, and they are great tips to keep in mind when shopping for new clothes as well. Developing your style can take some time and effort but don’t be afraid to try new things and who knows what kind of confidence you can find in discovering your flair. I hope these help and if you have any tips you want to share, comment down below, I’d love to hear what yours are!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page