top of page

Morg By The Week: Social Media Anxiety


As you’ve learned from my last few posts, I deal with anxiety. I don’t try to hide that, but I do try to get past it. It is never easy but talking about it more lately, especially with people I trust makes it bearable and probably why I’m doing so well with it lately. So to continue this personal growth trend, I wanted to discuss how anxiety affects my blogging. Specifically with the social media part of it.


If there’s one thing that I dislike about blogging, it would be the social media side of things. I’m on social media pretty frequently in a casual way but when it comes to it in a blogging sense, it just gives me anxiety. I always feel super overwhelmed when it comes to managing all of my accounts at once, trying to create content for each of them but also trying to learn how to do it properly. I don’t know where to start when it comes to learning how to manage my socials. There’s so much information I’m not sure what is viable and what is outdated, plus this is only a hobby for me, I don’t make money on it so having to spend money on a learning course doesn’t seem like a smart decision.


I also feel like social media forces me to compare myself with others. Other bloggers always seem more successful than I am at it and it feels like a big game of catch-up just to seem like my content is interesting enough to read. Many times before it’s stopped me from posting entirely. Thinking that my content wasn’t good enough. Even now I don’t know if anyone is seriously interested in what I make, but I should just make it anyway, right? I’ll never know if I don’t try.


I also find engagement very hard to keep up with. I know I should engage with other bloggers and comment more and read others’ content as well, and I do, but sometimes I find it hard to think of what to say. It also gets frustrating when no one engages back. I’ll take the time and effort to read someone’s content and let them know if I enjoyed it but I never get the same things back. Especially from communities that advertise that they want to share the love, I feel very excluded from that invitation and it makes me question if my content is just really that bad if others are just rude, or possibly both.


I wish being good at managing social media wasn’t something I had to be good at, or have to do at all, but I know it can be an essential part of blogging. Because of that, I want to get good at it, along with posting more regularly here on my site as well. So getting over my anxiety about this will have to happen sooner or later. I’d love to hear your tips for managing social media, comment down below and let me know what you do to make it easier. This is where this post ends today, thanks for wreaking and I hope you have a great week. Cheers Loves!


Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page